Menu Barcode vs Qaema (2026): A Focused Bilingual Menu, Priced in Riyals
Looking for a Menu Barcode alternative? Qaema gives you a free Arabic and English menu with calories and 14 allergens, priced in SAR.
Published by Qaema. Menu Barcode prices were checked on 17 October 2026 and link to Menu Barcode's own pages.
Try it now: paste your Menu Barcode link on the Qaema homepage and see your menu in Arabic and English in seconds. No account needed.
Short answer
Qaema is the better choice for cafés and restaurants that want a great menu, not a sprawling system. You get a bilingual Arabic and English menu with calories and allergens for free, and Pro costs a flat SAR 19 a month, billed yearly at SAR 228. Menu Barcode prices in US dollars, with its discount on the first period only.
Menu Barcode vs Qaema at a glance
| Qaema | Menu Barcode | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan limits | 50 items, stated on the pricing page | Limits beyond 2 restaurants not stated |
| Pricing | In SAR, one flat annual price | In USD, 66% off the first period only |
| Calories | A calories field on every item, every plan | Not stated on its site |
| SFDA 2025 labels | Caffeine, salt icon, walking time, daily intake | Not stated on its site |
| Allergens | 14 allergens, "may contain", diner filter | Not stated on its site |
Why owners pick Qaema over Menu Barcode
- It's free to start. 50 items in Arabic and English, calories, allergens and table QR codes, at no cost, with the limits written down.
- A price you can plan around. Pro is SAR 19 a month, billed yearly at SAR 228, in riyals, with no first-month discount that disappears at renewal.
- Built for Saudi labelling. Calories and the 14 main allergens have their own fields, with a "may contain" option and a filter guests use to hide what they can't eat.
- Arabic is first-class. Every plan includes both languages, with proper right-to-left layout and Arabic fonts.
- Less work every day. Mark an item sold out for tonight or for two hours, and it comes back on by itself. Every change can be undone.
- Guests keep your menu. The menu installs on a phone like an app, and a QR studio makes table, pickup and delivery codes in your brand colours.
- Ready for AI. Connect Claude or ChatGPT to update your menu by chat, and guests' AI assistants can read your published menu.
- Analytics on every plan, including Free: scans, popular items and languages.
Pricing
Qaema Free includes 1 venue, 50 items, Arabic and English, calories and 14 allergens, table QR codes, 2 templates and 7 days of analytics. Pro is SAR 19 a month, billed yearly at SAR 228 with unlimited items and all six templates. Business is SAR 2,490 a year for 3 venues. Prices are before VAT (15%), billed annually, with a 14-day trial. See Qaema pricing.
Menu Barcode prices its plans in US dollars on its pricing page, with monthly and annual options and 66% off the first month or year, as published on 17 October 2026: Free at $0 for 2 restaurants, Starter at $9 a month ($3.06 for the first month), Professional at $19 ($6.46), Premium at $29 ($9.86) and Premium Plus at $49 ($16.66). The discounted figures apply to the first period only, so budget on the list price.
Saudi menu rules (SFDA)
SFDA has required calories on restaurant menus since 2019. From 1 July 2025, caffeine content, a high-salt warning and a physical-activity equivalent are also required on printed and digital menus (SPA, Foodics summary). Qaema has a field for every one of them: calories, the 14 allergens, caffeine per cup (and per size), a salt-shaker icon on high-salt dishes, the walking minutes that burn each dish, and an adult daily-intake guide. You can also list the meats you serve and their source, as the municipal restaurant rules ask. Each label is optional and one switch away.
Switch from Menu Barcode in under a minute
- Copy your public Menu Barcode link.
- Paste it on the Qaema homepage, or under Imports if you already have an account.
- Your sections, items and prices open in an editor. Check them, add photos and publish.
More comparisons: QR Menu vs Qaema.
Verdict
For a café or restaurant that wants a beautiful, bilingual, correctly labelled menu at a clear price in riyals, Qaema wins on labelling, Arabic and simplicity.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Menu Barcode alternative in Saudi Arabia?
For cafés and restaurants that want a clear, correctly labelled digital menu, Qaema. It is free for up to 50 items, includes Arabic and English on every plan, and shows calories and 14 allergens. Menu Barcode does not state calories or allergens on its site.
How much does Menu Barcode cost?
As published on 17 October 2026, Menu Barcode lists a free plan, then Starter at $9, Professional at $19, Premium at $29 and Premium Plus at $49 a month, with 66% off the first month or year only.
Does Qaema show calories and allergens?
Yes. Every item has a calories field and 14 allergens with a "may contain" option, on every plan, and guests can filter out what they cannot eat.
Can I move my menu from Menu Barcode to Qaema without retyping it?
Yes, in under a minute. Paste your public Menu Barcode link on the Qaema homepage. Sections, items and prices open in an editor before you even create an account. Photos are not copied.